What is the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award?

The Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award is an opportunity for emerging fiction writers to join a community
of authors on Amazon.com, showcase their work and compete for a chance to get a publishing contract
with Penguin group. Sponsored in partnership with Penguin Group (USA) and CreateSpace, the Amazon
Breakthrough Novel Award first launched in October 2007 and received more than 5,000 initial entries. In
the inaugural contest, Amazon customers voted and named Bill Loehfelm the winner with his novel, Fresh
Kills. Several of the other Top 10 finalists also received publishing deals with Penguin.

The 2009 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award started out even bigger than the first contest, with over
6,500 authors signing up. After narrowing the field, the top 500 excerpts were available to Amazon
customer to read and review while Publishers Weekly reviewed the full manuscripts. From that
information, Penguin selected 100 semifinalists that which were then reviewed by a group of Penguin
editors who the three finalists. Excerpts from Ian Gibson (Stuff of Legends), James King (Bill Warrington's
Last Chance ), and Brandi-Lynn Ryder (In Malice, Quite Close ) were voted on by Amazon customers,
and in a ceremony in New York, James King was announced as the 2009 winner.

What are the grand prizes?

The grand prize winner in each category will receive a full publishing contract with Penguin to market and
distribute the Grand Prize winner's winning manuscript as a published book, including promotion for the
published book on Amazon.com and a $15,000 advance.  

To participate in this competition you just need to be a published author with us under any of
our Standard or Upgraded packages.  
New Global Publishing
Book Publisher for today's growing online market!